What if the world stopped spinning?

Earth-from-Space

What if the world stopped spinning?

If it just stood still on its axis and refused to move?

If at every latitude and longitude, the sun and moon stayed still?

What if somewhere it is always sunrise and somewhere else the sun is always setting?

What if some live forever in total darkness and others in unrelenting light?

What if the earth just took a stand and said, “I will not turn once more, not one degree, not even the 100th of a degree, until you learn to love me?”

What if the earth were to shout to us, “I have done all I will do for you. I will not provide succulent morsels for your wasteful tongues after you rape me with violence and pollution?”

What if she told us that she was finished with the struggle, that it just was not worth it anymore?

What if she screamed in anger and in pain, “I have no more tears to shed for you. You have hurt me more than I am willing to endure. You come to me for everything you need and give nothing in return.”

What if she said in a voice full of despair, “ It is too hard to sustain life when you choose to kill and maim each other as a way to solve problems.”

“I can not keep spinning. I will no longer enable you to destroy us both. I have given all I have to give. It is your turn now.”

What if in the bright light of the un-turning world, we could never stop seeing all that we have taken from her, if we were forced to stare at desolation?

What if in the perpetual darkness we could never again see the beauty of a flower, a tree, a mountain stream, waves breaking on the sand?

What if some lived in the glory of an eternal dawn or the beauty of an eternal sunset, knowing that the rest of the world would never ever see it?

If it was you, could you stand to know that you were one of the few to be so lucky?Knowing that so many are denied light and so many others never given the respite of the dark?

What if we had no choice? What if the earth just stopped giving? What if there was nothing we could do to change her mind?

No pleading, no promises, no planting trees, no conserving energy, no cleaning polluted waters, no small gestures to show we care.

Would we realize how small these gestures are? Would we be sorry that we did not do more?

What if it was too late? What if the world just couldn’t take it anymore?

~~~

I wrote this more than two years ago and complacency about the environment is still widespread. Yet, I am hopeful. I see more news stories about climate change than I did two years ago. I see more about the environment on social media. So, I think change has begun at a grassroots level.

This makes me hopeful because I truly believe you and I and many millions across the globe will be the ones to accept the honor and privilege of transitioning our species to a new way of living in harmony with nature. We are the generations that will figure how to use our technology to protect, rather than destroy, and we will also figure out when using technology is not the best solution for our health and the health of our planet.

A book that gives us some solutions and lots of hope is Cows Save the Planet by Judith D. Schwartz.  http://www.chelseagreen.com/bookstore/item/cows_save_the_planet:paperback

What books would you recommend?

 

 

 

 

 

 

About What a Heart Can Hold

I'm Jan Krause Greene - writer, peace activist and lover of the earth. I formed my opinions about life at an early age and they haven't really changed much since then - I believe war does not create lasting solutions, love will be the real revolution, and the human heart can expand until it holds love for the whole world. I have been a teacher, a newspaper columnist, a bank teller, a house cleaner, an executive director of a non-profit dedicated to education advocacy, a diversity trainer, AIDS activist, a group facilitator, and a waitress. Whatever it took to raise 5 kids and remain true to my values. I can't carry a tune, but I love to sing and don't know any steps, but I love to dance!
This entry was posted in Choices, climate change, earth, environment, humanity, Interconnectedness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What if the world stopped spinning?

  1. davidprosser says:

    I’d rather be deaf than have to listen to Gaia saying what we’ve done to her,
    I’d rather go blind than have to look at all the damage we’ve done and all that we’ve taken without giving back.
    I’d rather lose my understanding than try to determine why man is such a killer. Not just to sustain life with food, but the only creature that kills for sport, that can happily turn on it’s own species and kill many times and that can kill the surface of Gaia without remorse and not think of replanting. Can see the end of a species without thinking of the generations to come who will just see a picture in a book.

    I want to be the man who is full of hope that this generation will manage the healing that my generation wanted to but couldn’t manage. I want to see peace and understanding between mankind and kindness towards Gaia with attempts to heal her wounds. I want new generations to look back and say these were the years of our recovery and we deserve to exist as a species.

    xxx Mega Hugs Jan xxx.

  2. David, I think you and I share the same anguish about the what we humans are doing to the earth and to each other. The only way I can figure to deal with it is to believe that our individual efforts can, and do, make a difference. Hence, I keep writing about this and talking about it and doing what I can to conserve, restore and protect.
    I so very much appreciate your comments and I feel very connected to you knowing that we share this concern and love for our planet. Isn’t it weird how randomly people find each on blogs, and then discover they have so much in common?
    Mega, massive, gigantic hugs to you!

  3. WOW! You have such in a great way expressed mother earth as the living planet that she is and truly our life sustaining mother. Thank you for this image that I will forever hold in my mind. Sheri

  4. Sheri, When I was a child, I used to hear the term Mother Earth, but I never really thought about it. As I got older and spent more time in nature, I realized how very true it is that Earth is a living planet and nourishes and sustains us as a mother. I truly love the earth as I love my human mother.
    And, as you know, I love you!

Leave a Reply

