More easy ways to use less plastic

Loving, protecting and living on the earth!

Plastic – part 3

In a recent post, I asked people to send me suggestions on easy way to use less plastic in the kitchen.

Here are the suggestions I received:

1. Buy only fresh produce that is not packaged at all.


2. Use wax paper.


3.If you have to use plastic, use the smallest size bag or segment that you can.


4. Never buy bottled water.

The one about bottled water was submitted multiple times.

So, how about you? How have you cut down on the use of plastic in your kitchen?

 

About What a Heart Can Hold

I'm Jan Krause Greene - writer, peace activist and lover of the earth. I formed my opinions about life at an early age and they haven't really changed much since then - I believe war does not create lasting solutions, love will be the real revolution, and the human heart can expand until it holds love for the whole world. I have been a teacher, a newspaper columnist, a bank teller, a house cleaner, an executive director of a non-profit dedicated to education advocacy, a diversity trainer, AIDS activist, a group facilitator, and a waitress. Whatever it took to raise 5 kids and remain true to my values. I can't carry a tune, but I love to sing and don't know any steps, but I love to dance!
This entry was posted in climate change, earth, environment and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More easy ways to use less plastic

  1. I don’t use plastic because I really do buy everything fresh, meat from the butcher, bread from the bakery wrapped in paper, boxed laundry soap, boxed dishwasher detergent. The only thing I can’t get away from is dish soap, it’s all always in plastic. Any ideas anyone?

    • Thanks, Sheri. I try to get most things in paper packaging too. Hopefully, this summer we will be getting most of our veggies from our garden and the rest of the produce from local farmers’ markets. I don’t know the answer to the dish soap either, but when I find one I will be sure to let you know!
      Love,
      Mom

  2. rshyde says:

    If you do have plastic bags, most supermarkets have recycling bins for only those. All Publix Supermarkets do in the South. I keep MANY cloth, reusable bags right in view in my car. Therefore, I see them before going into the supermarket.

    Date: Wed, 21 May 2014 18:00:45 +0000 To: rshyde@hotmail.com

    • Hi Roberta,
      I do the same thing. My grocery bags – and I have lots of them – are always in the car. I am finally getting good at remembering to bring them into other types of stores too. Still, I always seem to have some plastic bags to bring back to the grocery store for recycling.
      Peace and love!
      Jan

Leave a Reply

